Annual Election May 20: Candidate and Ballot Recap

by | May 19, 2014

The Auburn annual election is tomorrow, May 20.  Polls are open at the Auburn High School from 8am to 8pm.  Among the contested races,  Auburn voters will choose two selectmen, each for three year terms, and two new school committee members, also for three year terms.  There are a number of uncontested races, as well.

There are no ballet questions for voters to decide in this year’s election.  Unlike many surrounding communities, Auburn is not facing Proposition 2 1/2 overrides to continue to fund community services.   

Voters will be asked to vote for two of the six Selectman candidates.  Auburn Mass Daily has profiled each of the candidates over the past week.  The profiles can be accessed by clicking on the candidate’s name.

Candidates for Selectman

Robert Grossman, Incumbent

Denise Brotherton, Incumbent

Mike Robidoux

Carl Westerman

Dan Carpenter

Dennis Natoli


Candidates for School Committee

Voters will choose two new School Committee members.  Neither Elizabeth Ann Gribbons nor Lee Ann Gibree, whose terms end this year, have chosen to seek reelection.  The candidates for School Committee are:

Gail Holloway

Dorothy Sutton

Jessica Harrington


Town Meeting Members

Voters will select eight town meeting members from each of Auburn’s five precincts.  Only Precinct 1 has a full slate of eight candidates.  Precincts 2, 3 and 4 have five candidates each.  Precinct 5 has seven candidates for the eight open seats.  Precinct 4 also has two unexpired term vacancies, for which there are no candidates.  Voters may write in the name of an Auburn resident who lives in the Precinct to full the additional seats.

Voters will also be asked to select two Library Trustees, the Town Moderator, and one Southern Worcester County Regional Vocational School Committee member. None of these races are contested.  Again, voters may always write in the name of a candidate who does not appear on the ballot.

The full 2014 Annual Election ballot can be accessed here: Ballot2014

Please do make the effort to get out and vote on May 20.