Town Of Auburn Municipal Scholarship Awarded

by | May 8, 2014

The Auburn Municipal Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce that its second annual scholarship in the amount of $1,000 has been awarded to Jamie McNamara, an Auburn High School senior who will be attending St. Anselm’s College in the fall.

While all eighteen applicants for the scholarship were certainly worthy, Jamie’s application stood out and was selected based on the following criteria: strong scholastic record, high moral character, exceptional extra-curricular activities, participation and leadership in extra-curricular activities, strong community involvement, and a need for financial assistance.

The Municipal Scholarship fund is able to be awarded due to the generosity of Auburn taxpayers. It is derived from donations made by Auburn residents on their quarterly real estate tax bills. All funds raised go directly to Auburn graduates who meet the criteria established by the Scholarship Committee and in keeping with MGL Chapter 60, Section 3(c). You are encouraged to consider making a contribution via an upcoming tax bill so that the Municipal Scholarship can continue to be awarded annually.


From left: Amy Sampson, AHS Guidance Counselor; Jamie McNamara; Superintendent Dr. Maryellen Brunelle; Gerald Delongchamp, Municipal Scholarship Chairperson