National Honor Society Inducts 36

by | Apr 10, 2014

Scholarship, Service, Leadership, Character

nathonsocBeing a member of the National Honor Society is more than just having good grades. The four pillars of the Society are scholarship, service, leadership, and character. All potential members must demonstrate in all four areas, and current members must maintain their status in all four areas.

On Thursday, April 3rd, the Auburn High School Chapter inducted 36 new members. This honor is highly respected and follows a student through his academic career. Auburn High’s Chapter is under the guidance of advisors Bethany Dunton and Bethann Cormier.

Senior Nathalie Khafaga, current President of the Auburn Chapter, spoke to the inductees, “Any recognition is just the icing on the cake. However, I challenge you to not rest on just that, but to continue to strive towards even loftier goals.”

Nicole Graham shared some reflections on the 2013-14 school year and presented a video highlighting these events. Last summer, all members performed the required15 hours of service in the community. Activities ranged from working with the elderly to volunteering at soup kitchens.

During the school year, they tutored students, shoveled snow for senior citizens, and volunteered in other community programs. The students adopted three families at Christmas time and provided gifts and toys for the children.

NHS members also sent care packages to soldiers overseas, and purchased a brick for the David Brodeur Memorial. These students really give back to the community.

Chapter officers for the next academic year were also announced: Katie Cole, President; Erin Burke, Vice-President; Bridgette D’Arcangelo, Secretary; Sara Lyons, Treasurer; and Samantha Dinsdale, Historian.

 995 AHS graduate Andrew Lacombe gave the keynote address. Mr. Lacombe is the News Director and Sports Anchor for Charter TV in Worcester.

Senior inductees were Lyndsey Gabrielian, Jessica Powers, and Camille Thomas.

Junior inductees were Brianna Allain, Samantha Anderson, John Champagne, Kaitlyn Chestna, Hannah Ducharme, Colin Gallaway, Thomas Gleason, Kellie Guittar, Savannah Ho, Lauren Papandrea, and Victoria Richard.

Sophomore inductees were Alexa Adams, Dawn Bissessar, Katherine Brophy, Megan Chestna, Connie Chung, Jessica Clifford, Joseph Coughlin, Brianna Courteau, Brooke Gallaway, Olivia Hamparsoomian, Hanna Harris, Karla Kahale, David Klett, Samantha Moreau, Kyle Novakoski, Yaa Opoku-Agyema, Katheryn Ruzzoli, Emily Sarkisian, Riley Simmons, Lindsey Thunberg, Sarah Vincent, and Lily White.

The Chapter also recognized Special Education teacher Andrea Carlson who will be retiring at the end of the school year. Finally, the Academian Award was presented to senior Sandra Sisko. The award recognizes “a student who has taken responsibility for their own academic, personal, and social growth.”

Congratulations to all for representing Auburn and the Auburn Public Schools with pride, dedication and hard work.