Candidates Announced for May Town Election

by | Apr 3, 2014

Town Clerk Ellen Gaboury has certified the following candidates for the 2014 Annual Town Election to be held on Tuesday, May 20, 2014.

Board of Selectmen

Denise A. Brotherton (incumbent) 
Robert D. Grossman (incumbent)
Daniel S. Carpenter
Dennis Natoli
Michael Robidoux
Carl Westerman

There are two vacancies on the Board of Selectman this year.  Voters will be asked to vote for two of the seven candidates. Ms Brotherton is running for a second three-year term, while Mr. Grossman is running for his 7th term in office.

School Committee

Jessica D. Harrington
Gail N. Holloway
Dorothy A. Sutton

All of the school committee candidates are new; there are no incumbents running in this election. There are two seats up for election May 20, 2014.

A number of incumbent candidates are running unopposed this election:  Matthew A. Toth and Suzette Dowd for Library Trustees, Charles A. Baker for Moderator, and Donald H. Erickson for Southern Worcester County Regional Vocational School Committee (Bay Path).

There are vacancies in most precincts for Town Meeting Members.  These vacancies will be filled by write-in candidates on election day.  

Certified candidates have until April 17 to withdraw their nomination papers.  The last day to register to vote is April 30, 2014.  Auburn residents who are or will be 18 years of age by election day, may register to vote in the Town Clerk’s office. A resident may register to vote by mail, and the mail-in form must be postmarked on or before April 30, 2014 for the voter to be eligible to vote at the annual town election.  The Town Clerk’s office will be open extended hours from 8am to 8pm on April 30th to accommodate you procrastinators out there.