Heating Assistance Deadline Extended

by | May 8, 2021

Although the worst of cold weather appears to be behind us, Worcester Community Action Council, Inc. (WCAC) knows many households are still struggling financially due lost or reduced wages as the result of COVID. Many households are also experiencing increased utility usage because they are working from home or have children doing remote learning. WCAC has announced that the deadline to submit applications for utility/home heating assistance has been extended until May 28, 2021.

“Whether you are a returning client who just hasn’t submitted your paperwork or someone who finds themselves struggling for the first time, please reach out,” said WCAC Executive Director Marybeth Campbell. “This has been a challenging year for so many in so many ways. If we can help with a utility payment or home heating bill, then we can perhaps lessen the burden of other expenses.”

WCAC’s Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP), best known as fuel assistance or home heating assistance, helps homeowners and renters pay home heating bills, past due balances on utility bills, and in some cases receiving forgiveness credit and making monthly payments. Financial assistance is available for income-eligible households to help pay home heating bills incurred between November 1 – April 30 of each year.

Although WCAC’s offices remain closed to the public due to the Covid pandemic, staff will be offering several outdoor outreach opportunities for those wishing to apply. Masks must be warn and socially distancing is required.

Tuesday, May 11th from 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. at WCAC’s Head Start Center located at 116 School Street in Webster
Tuesday, May 18th from 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. at WCAC’s Head Start Center located at 25 Cole Avenue in Southbridge

First time applicants can also now apply online at www.WCAC.net/fuel-assistance. Returning applicants should email LIHEAP@wcac.net for further assistance.

CITIES/TOWNS SERVED BY WCAC’S FUEL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM: Worcester, Auburn, Brookfield, Boylston, Charlton, Charlton City, Charlton Depot, Douglas, Dudley, East Brookfield, Holden, Jefferson, Leicester, Cherry Valley, Rochdale, Millbury, North Brookfield, Oakham, Oxford, North Oxford, Paxton, Rutland, Southbridge, Spencer, Sturbridge, Fiskdale, Sutton, Manchaug, Warren, West Warren, Webster, West Boylston, West Brookfield.