Special Election Sept. 1

by | Jun 11, 2020

Auburn will hold a special election Sept. 1 to fill two vacant seats on the Board of Selectmen.  The BOS currently has only three members –  Daniel S. Carpenter, Doreen M. Goodrich and Lionel R. Berthiaume – as Ken Holstrom resigned in May after moving his residence from Auburn and the Annual Town Election winner, Chief Andrew Sluckis, Jr., declined to be sworn in.

In a statement earlier this week from the Auburn Town Clerk Debra Gremo, Sluckis believed he could hold both the Chief of Police and Selectman positions based on a determination by the State Ethics Committee, but was not aware of the clause in the Town Charter prohibiting it. By law, when a individual who is elected declines to be sworn in, the seat to which they were elected is considered vacant due to failure to elect, according to Gremo.

The open seats are for a three-year term and a one-year unexpired term, which would be up for reelection next May 2021.