Town Elections Tomorrow

by | May 18, 2015

The polls will open at 8:00am tomorrow morning for Auburn’s Annual Town Election. Auburn traditionally has a very low voter turnout for this election, and it would be nice if registered voters came out to support the candidates of their choice. All polling will be at Auburn High School and will conclude at 8:00pm.

School Committee members Wayne Page, George Scobie and Dorothy Sutton are unopposed in this election as are Library Trustees Nan Johnson and Bruce Mendelsohn and Town Moderator Charles Baker.

Board of Selectmen incumbents Doreen Goodrich and Ken Holstrom are being challenged by Stephen Consilvio while E. Helene Hanam is challenging incumbent Alice Rea for a 5-year seat on the Auburn Housing Authority.

Assistant Town Clerk Debra Gremo is facing former Selectman Nicholas Hammond for the Town Clerk position. Town Clerk Ellen Gaboury did not run after announcing her retirement.

Voters will also be choosing eight town meeting members from each of the five Auburn precincts. They will also be asked to vote for several town meeting members to fill unexpired terms. In a number of cases, there are fewer than 8 candidates running for town meeting member, meaning write-in candidates may be selected, or those seats will be unfilled until appointments can be made.

You can view the complete ballot HERE.