Auburn Municipal Scholarship Awarded

by | May 7, 2015


L to R Gerry Delongchamp, Municipal Scholarship Committee Chairperson; Jordan; Guidance Counselor, Steve Brutus; Ron Prouty, Municipal Scholarship Committee Vice Chairperson. (Submitted photo)

The Auburn Municipal Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce that its third annual scholarship in the amount of $1,000.00 has been awarded to Jordan Lavallee, an Auburn High School senior who will be attending the University of New Hampshire in the fall.

While all twenty applicants for the scholarship were certainly worthy, Jordan’s application stood out and was selected based on the following criteria: strong scholastic record, high moral character, exceptional extra-curricular activities, participation and leadership in extra-curricular activities, strong community involvement, and a need for financial assistance.

The Municipal Scholarship is made possible by the generosity of Auburn taxpayers. It is derived from donations made by Auburn residents on their quarterly real estate tax bills. All funds raised go directly to Auburn graduates who meet the criteria established by the Scholarship Committee in keeping with MGL Chapter 60, Section 3(c). Residents are encouraged to consider making a contribution via an upcoming tax bill so that the Municipal Scholarship can continue to be awarded annually.