Alex Hammond was awarded the Yurasha Plaque and Colleen Cutting earned the M. Carol Marshall Plaque at the 2017 Senior Athletic Awards before the end of school. Both photos by John R. Anderson

There were 26 varsity teams at Auburn High School this past school year, and 18 made the tournaments. The highlight, of course, was the State Championship earned by the baseball team, a well-deserved honor. As graduation nears, some seniors are honored with various awards, and we’re passing along this summary.

The Coaches’ Awards were presented as follows: Football – Ryan Mallonee; Girls Soccer – Colleen Cutting; Boys Soccer – Matthew Russell; Field Hockey – Nora LeBlanc; Boys Cross Country – Ben Sunagel; Girls Cross Country – Monica Tran; Boys Golf – Jon Mikkila; Football Cheerleading – Reese Casavecchia; Boys Ice Hockey – Zack Davey; Girls Ice Hockey – Meg Fleming; Boys Basketball – Marc Louis; and Girls Basketball – Colleen Cutting.

Additional Coaches’ Awards were: Girls Indoor Track – Sarah Cavanaugh; Boys Indoor Track – Alex Hammond; Basketball Cheerleading – Reese Casavecchia; Baseball – Josh Tower; Softball – Lindsay Berthiaume; Girls Tennis – Monika Mularski; Boys Tennis – Matthew Russell; Boys Outdoor Track – Chris Bernier; Girls Outdoor Track – Andrea Bolduc; Girls Golf – Meg Beauregard; Boys Lacrosse – Ben Jarvis; Girls Lacrosse – No Seniors; Unified Basketball – Jacob Foulkrod; Unified Track – Katie Smith and Ryan Tillery.

The District E Athletic Director’s Awards went to Sarah Cavanaugh and Matthew Russell. The Wayne Jacobs Memorial Plaque and Roll of Honor, awarded to a senior boy who participated in track and/or cross country and exerted a wholesome influence on his school and teammates, was presented to Ben Sunagel.

The Frank L. Jaques, Jr. Memorial Award, given to a boy and girl for outstanding sportsmanship, loyalty and teamwork, went to James Krikorian and Kileigh Hynes. The Paul Standring Memorial Award, for a girl and boy who have made an outstanding contribution to Auburn’s Athletic Community, was presented to Andrea Bolduc and Steve Saucier.

The William Courville Memorial Award, for a boy and girl who exemplify loyalty, cooperation and perseverance, was given to Luke Matthews and Sophia Laperle.
The George E. Sherry Memorial Award, given to a student athlete who exemplifies the true spirit of Auburn High School, was presented to Lindsay Berthiaume.

The M. Carol Marshall Plaque and Roll of Honor, for an outstanding female athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of wholesome leadership, cooperation, sportsmanship and service, was awarded to Colleen Cutting.

Finally, the Yurasha Plaque and Roll of Honor, awarded to a male athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of wholesome leadership, cooperation, sportsmanship and service, was presented to Alex Hammond.

Some of these graduates are already at their colleges and preparing for their chosen sport, and we wish all a great and successful future.