Forty-four students were inducted into the AHS chapter of the National Honor Society on Thursday, March 30 in the high school auditorium.

During the ceremony, present NHS members welcomed the inductees, formally “pinning” them into the organization. To qualify for NHS, students must maintain a GPA of 3.0 out of 4.0 (scholarship), while demonstrating service to their community, leadership, and strong character. These are the “four pillars” of National Honor Society.

AHS alumnae, Molly McNamara (‘12) was the keynote speaker. McNamara served as president of NHS, and was the Class of 2012 Valedictorian. She was also a multi-sport standout while at AHS. McNamara went on to study biology at MIT and is currently pursuing her Masters at Harvard University.

McNamara described some of her challenges as she works with researchers in hopes of finding new treatments for cancer. “At the end of a tough day of failed experiments, I’m reassured by the thought that someday there can be a world where more people beat cancer” said McNamara.

In facing life’s many obstacles, McNamara implored those in attendance to “Try your best to be an optimist…Be relentless and don’t ever give up on your dreams.”

NHS honored retiring physical education teacher, Kathryn Tobey, who has served 29 years at Auburn High School. In presenting the honor, NHS Treasurer, Rachel Hearnlaye, recalled the time she received a fitness award from Mrs. Tobey.

“I am not really athletic, but I enjoyed learning how to play baseball, football and the other sports” said Hearnlaye. “When I asked [Tobey] about it, she just said, ‘You deserve it. You always work hard and have a great attitude.’”

The National Honor Society advisers are Mrs. Bethany Dunton and Mr. Spencer Kennard.

This year’s inductees:

Shea Brown, Sean Angus Campbell, Meaghan Contois, Katelyn Cormier, Olivia Curnen, Molly Cutting, Angelique Davis, Ryan Garabedian, Emma Gervais, Olivia Hamel, Ashley Hayes, Tiffany Huynh, Graham Latino, Zachary Lazerick, Jennifer LeBlanc, Victoria Murphy, Corinne Oliver, Eliana Palumbo, Samantha Perry, Madison Poshkus, Jared Sargent, Emily Saucier, Paige Souda, Jackson Sypek, Dayna Tang, Emily Wambach and Eva Zink.

Madison Boulay, Brighid Campbell, Craigon Confer, Amanda Doherty, Zachary Hauge, Renee Ordway, Caroline Saltz and Andre Zink.

Riley Beauregard, Ayanna Bedard, Lindsay Berthiaume, Alexander Hammond, Erik Kozlowski, Nora LeBlanc, Patrick Lynch, Alicia Murphy and Monica Tran.