WORCESTER, Mass.—Six employees of the College of the Holy Cross have received 2015 Claire B. Burns Awards. The awards program, now in its 18th year, was established and endowed in 1997 by Donald J. Burns ’49 in honor of his wife, Claire, an alumna of the Class of 1990, who passed away in November of 2010. The awards are presented annually to non-exempt employees of the College, currently working or retired, who in the fulfillment of their responsibilities have demonstrated, fostered, and promoted the spirit of family, which is a treasured characteristic of the Holy Cross Community.

The recipients, all from the Worcester area, were honored at a banquet on March 28. They are:

Sean A. Alger, a resident of Worcester, has worked in receiving/distribution services for the last seven years.

James E. Coonan, a resident of Auburn, has worked in facilities/environmental services for the last five years.

Melissa M. Cutroni, a resident of Charlton, has worked in human resources for the last nine and a half years.

Christine A. Gemme, a resident of Millbury, has worked in student affairs for the last 11 years.

Michael A. Mangual, a resident of Worcester, has worked in facilities/trades and shop for the last six years.

As part of the Claire B. Burns Awards Program, David V. Parker, an employee in facilities/environmental services, received The Rev. William J. O’Halloran, S.J., Award. A resident of Northbridge, Parker has worked at the College for nine years. The award he received was established to honor Fr. O’Halloran’s long years of service to the College, from 1963-2008; his closeness to non-exempt employees; and his contributions to the Claire B. Burns Employee Award Program. During his tenure with the College, Fr. O’Halloran served as chair of the psychology department, assistant chaplain, rector of the Jesuit Community, trustee, vice president of the College, and special assistant to the president.

On April 21, 27 employees who have worked at Holy Cross for 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years will be honored at the College’s 25+ Years Awards Ceremony.